Max Beerbohm

`But in a tragedy,’ I insisted, `the catastrophe MUST be
led up to, step by step.  My dear Brown, the end of
the hero MUST be logical and rational.’

`I don’t see that,’ he said, as we crossed
Piccadilly Circus.  `In actual life it isn’t so.
What is there to prevent a motor-omnibus
from knocking me over and killing me at this moment?’

At that moment, by what has always seemed
to me the strangest of coincidences, and just
the sort of thing that playwrights ought to
avoid, a motor-omnibus knocked Brown over and killed him.

– From ‘SAVONAROLA BROWN’ 1919

Thoughts?

